Connections

Months have passed.  Some things have changed.  Some have stayed the same.

I have a new job.  In just a few weeks, I’ll be going back into the classroom full-time.  Though I am still filled with so much anxiety about making this huge step and change, I am also incredibly excited.  I remember that I was once a pretty awesome teacher.  Since then, I’ve had children and watched them grow, causing my heart for these young lives to grow by leaps and bounds.  I know this will only make my service to them that much better.  I haven’t been able to spend much time in my classroom (because let’s be honest – what would I really get done with my 2 monkeys there with me?!?!), but the day that I did spend there and the training classes that I’ve attended have reminded me of one thing that brings me a lot of comfort.  I feel so ALIVE when I am doing this.  A different kind of alive than I feel now.  Don’t get me wrong, I have loved my life and cherished the time I have had with my children.  Memories were made that are priceless to me.  But, I’ve always believed that this is a “calling” for me.  And I believe that when you’re locked into your calling in life, that sweet spot, that things just feel right.  Even though I really thought I’d never return to the classroom, I know now that this is again the right choice for this season in my life.  And I’m happy I made it.

This summer has been full of fun connections, too.  Blogging and social media have some up sides and some down sides.  One great up side is that it allows connections to be made that wouldn’t happen otherwise.  I’ve now got wonderful friends-again who have reached out when I was going through a tough time, when I needed a little encouragement and just to say “I think we should know each other again”.  I love that.  I love knowing that there are people all over this country and world who’ve got my back and I’ve got theirs.  Really, aren’t people the greatest miracle of all?


One response to “Connections

Leave a comment