10 Apps That Make Life Easier

I’m sure that I was close to the last person on earth to enter the smart phone revolution.  I thought I only needed a phone until I got an Android.  It’s one of the purchases you make and then you can’t believe how you ever made it without.

When I first got my phone, it took me a while to weed through apps that were less than useful.  So, here’s my top 10 favorite apps.  I’ll leave off Angry Birds since the whole world has and loves that game.

English: Android Robot. Français : le logo d'a...

1.  Google Music – Amazing, really.  It syncs with my iTunes and makes my songs and playlists available anywhere.  I can get them from any computer and on my phone.

2. Dolphin Browser – It’s the easiest browser to use on a phone, with commands that you give by drawing shapes or letters on the screen, rather than typing or navigating through menus.

3. Tweet Deck – After trying a few interfaces for Twitter and Facebook, I love this one.  It combines the two social media giants and allows me to post to both or only one.  And, I can read all the updates from my friends in one place.

4. List Master Pro – This little app manages the “to-do’s” of life.  It’s easy and I save recurring lists, like one for groceries and work for the week.

5. HeyTell – For all those times when you cannot text (like when driving, I HOPE!), simply press a button, speak and your voice is delivered to your other friends with the app.

6. Zedge – Fun and free ringtones and wallpapers.

7. Google Maps and Google Navigation – I sold my GPS and use this to get around.  It’s voice activated, too, so I just tell it where to go and it takes me, turn-by-turn.  Also, on our recent trip to NYC, the walking and public transit directions were awesome for getting us around the city.

8. Little Piano – And because sometimes my phone doubles as a fun distraction in the grocery store, I’ll include my 2 favorites for my son.  This one is great because it has a “follow me” version for playing songs.  The keys light up.

9. Drawing Pad – I don’t pay for many apps, but this one is totally worth the $1.99.  It’s a ton of creativity and fun on a screen.  I really, really love it for tablets.

10. Vlingo – I know, it’s no Siri, but what is?  This is a great FREE voice-activated assistant for your phone.  I especially love the In Car mode that reads text messages to you and allows you to respond with your voice.

There they are.  Which ones would you add to the list?

One response to “10 Apps That Make Life Easier

Leave a Reply

