Happy Pinning

English: Red Pinterest logo

Image via Wikipedia

There’s nothing like a little time with Pinterest to bring you right up out of the dumps.  I’ve heard about it for a while, but didn’t think much of it until a friend sent me a link.  I’ve discovered a world of fun through “pinning”.  And, I’m proud to tell you, I don’t just pin em’, I actually do this stuff.

Here are a few of my favorites:

Homemade Oreos – These are really easy and taste so much like real ones, especially the next day.

Pretzel Cookies with Chocolate and Peanut Butter Chips – I’m not sure why they didn’t just call these Chocolate Peanut Butter Pretzel Cookies.  I don’t know why I care.  They are so good that the name really doesn’t matter.  Sweet and salty combinations are really winning me over these days.  These cookies will be your new go-tos.

Baked Penne with Chicken, Broccoli and Smoked Mozzarella – This has replaced lasagna as a fancy eat-in meal.  It’s easy and delicious and impressive-looking.

Vegetarian Tortilla Soup – Though this is listed here as a vegetarian dish, I’m not a vegetarian.  So, I boil some chicken to add to it. I learned a VERY handy little trick (also from Pinterest) for shredding chicken that I use for this soup.  Cook the chicken, toss it in your KitchenAid for about a minute and you’ve got instant PERFECTLY SHREDDED chicken.  Isn’t that beautiful?  Awesome trick for burritos and chicken salad, too.

I recently visited the allergist for a skin test and found that, in addition to 62 other things, I am mildly allergic to soy.  I’m not sure if you’ve ever paid much attention to just how many things have soy lecithin as an ingredient, but I’m here to tell you – it’s a LOT.  In an effort to feel my best, I’ve gone to making a lot things instead of buying them.

Ranch Dressing – Seriously, I will never buy the crap in the store again.  Hid.den Valley has got nothing on this stuff.  I made it in about 3 minutes in a huge plastic stadium cup with my hand blender.  It’s so fresh and wonderful.  I find myself pouring it on everything.  Tonight – baked potatoes.

Pizza Dough – I’ve made my own dough before, but this recipe so far is my favorite.  I go half and half with white and wheat flour and it’s really good.  Minimal effort as well, but make sure you allow time for the rising.

And, I don’t like to put just anything on my hands/face/body.  I found this little idea and was making it a short time later.

DIY Hand Soap – I imagine you can use just about any soap you like.  I used Dr. Bronner’s peppermint soap with much success.  And, it seems like a special treat for Christmas because all our hand soap smells like mint.  For about $8.00 I made a whole gallon of the stuff.

I found a ton of road trip games for our trip to NYC with 2 small children that was a life saver.

Spent too many hours out of my life making this tree for our mantel. I mean, seriously, sometimes one must consider how much one’s own time is worth.  Yes, the tree is cute, but if my time is worth $30/hour (which may be a deal), I could have purchased quite a few cone-shaped mantel trees for that price.  I don’t love crafting quite enough for this one.

However, I did spend about 10 minutes making these ornaments with my children and I’ll forever remember how small they were this year when I hang them on my tree.

If you, too, are into the pinning – give me a follow and I’ll do the same.

One response to “Happy Pinning

Leave a Reply

