The Second Month

Physical Changes: Evan continues to fill out.  Our nicknames for him include: Big E, Chunka Chunka, Squishy Face, Eggplant, Boopa Do (that one’s Carter’s), Little Pumpkin (Puh Kin).  At the end of 2 months, he weighed in at a whopping 13.3 pounds at his checkup.  His face has changed so much and he’s starting to look more like himself and less like a little Carter.

New Skills:
Smiling!
Supporting his own head
Standing and bouncing with support
Tracking objects
Cooing

Sleep Patterns:  About halfway through the month, Evan gave me a little gift.  He stopped waking up every 2 1/2 hours and started waking up only once in the middle of the night.  What a difference.  Sanity has returned.  He’s such a good nighttime sleeper.  He’s down around 8:30 or 9, gets a “top off” feeding as we head to bed and then wakes up around 3:30 only long enough to fill his tummy, then he’s back out again.  He typically wakes up for the day with the sun, so about 7:30.

We started the Baby Wise schedule with Carter a little late, but according to this book Evan should be mature enough to skip that last middle of the night feeding around 8-10 weeks.  As I write this, he’s 10 weeks old.  In my head, I’ve got a little battle going on about starting sleep training with him.  I think it’s valuable and necessary, but I’m just not sure that he really is ready to go all night yet.  So, I’m waiting.  I’m hoping that he’ll do this on his own when he’s ready

I most want to remember:
The feeling that comes with getting that first smile is awesome.  It’s that moment that I felt like, to Evan, I became someone familiar and known.  I know he was “bonded” to me before then, but this outward sign of connect is my favorite.

The biggest challenges:  

Making it out of the house, alone, with two children continues to be a challenge.  We continue to get out, but it can be pretty exhausting and seems almost more trouble than it’s worth sometimes.  Dress the children, make the bottles, take extra everything, get in the car, get everyone buckled, head out and get a few things done, then head right back.

Sharing my attention and affections.  I love both of my children so much and they both need and want so much from me.  I want to be able to give them everything, but at times I feel like I have to deprive one to help the other.

How I feel:

A new normal has started to settle in.  Though I haven’t found those extra hours needed in the day to do all I need to do, I’ve found ways to just enough and be ok with it.

I’m exercising (a little) and wearing all my old clothes.  It’s a bit of a high to have made this very large accomplishment so quickly with my second child.  I feel like a hot mama and that’s a boost for the ol’ confidence level.

The end of the month…

Leave a Reply

