When I’m Wrong, I Say I’m Wrong

So much for the whole not-having-gestational-diabetes rant.  That was obviously silly and wrong.

As it turns out, the farther you go into pregnancy, the more the condition develops.  More hormones = More Sugar Blocked From Turning Into Energy.

Today, after a perfectly ok lunch at Quizno’s of a 1/2 chicken sub on whole grain bread, my blood glucose level was sky high.  I had several errands to run after lunch and I could feel that something was wrong.  I was weak, disoriented, nauseous.  Yes, it was freaking hot outside, but I had this clammy feeling all over.

I got home as soon as I could and did the 2 hour post lunch blood check.  153.  Not good.  My max should be 120.  So, I ate a very grainy and nutty snack bar with very little sugar.  Some of the nausea subsided, but I’m still pretty weak.

I spent some time reading up on symptoms, management and results of this should it go unmanaged.  Just to give you an idea of my ridiculous state, I cried boo hooed when I read that I should be exercising to help this condition.  Today, I don’t even feel much like standing up.  Exercising feels way out of the question.

I’ve got 9 weeks left.  Yesterday that felt like a short time.  Today it’s beginning to feel like a very, very long time.  I suppose it’s all relative and I’m hoping that I bounce back the other way soon.  Tomorrow I have an appointment with my doctor to discuss all this.  Apparently I will not be arguing about whether or not I have gestational diabetes.

Leave a Reply

