No Milk = New Project

Yesterday was a busy day.  I’ve really had to make peace with not being able to keep an exact schedule now that I have a 2 year-old in tow at all hours of the day, who may or may not take a nap in the afternoons.  I had all the best intentions and made every effort to be able to go to the grocery store, but it just did not happen.  So this morning we had no milk.

Jeff actually prefers cereal to every other breakfast food.  He’s teaching his son this, too.  I chase the cereal deals at the grocery store each week with my goal being to get a box of cereal for $1 or less and I have pretty strict standards for cereal.  It must be made with NO enriched flour and it cannot contain any high fructose corn syrup. (On a total sidenote, I got Kashi cereal for .75/box a few weeks ago by stacking competitor store coupons, manufacturer coupons and a great sale–it’s normally over $5/box.  Score.)  The boys get a little twitch if they don’t get their choice of cereal from the cereal bar in the mornings.

But, this morning we had NO MILK.  No milk means no cereal.  No cereal means we search for other breakfast options.  This morning the only backup options were a stale English Muffin or frozen bagels that I had purchased without reading the ingredients: enriched flour, partially hydrogenated soybean oil AND high fructose corn syrup.  3 STRIKES!  So, we end up eating these really yucky bagels.

In my bloggy reading just after breakfast, I came across today’s project!  Homemade bagels from Kristen at Frugal Antics of a Harried Homemaker.  They look simple enough and I have all the ingredients.  I forgot often that it’s so EASY, cheap and much more HEALTHY to make things on your own.  Today we have a project.  Equally as enticing are the 13 ideas to add some zip to cream cheese.  Oh the yumminess.

This project fits right in with my weekend find.  New flour to try–Eagle Mills White Whole Wheat Flour.  It promises to be smooth and useable wherever white flour is called for.  Whole wheat flour is always a great idea, but the texture of most whole wheat flour can be a little gritty.  Two weeks ago I made homemade graham crackers with stone ground wheat flour and it was just WRONG.  Carter seemed to like them, but Jeff and I agreed that the texture was way to close to dog biscuits.  Bleh.

What do you like to make?

Leave a Reply

