Refreshing

After days of sulking, I finally put my big girl panties on and got out of this house.

I spent an entire day spilling my deepest woes and most ridiculous thoughts.  I wallowed in self-pity and I was, at times, completely irrational.  My two friends, who actually seemed very proud of me for being an open person when I’m usually not, had to pull me back to good sense at times and were full of advice on how to handle and tackle things that seemed so tough to wrap my head around.  It was just so refreshing to take off my filter for once.

And, I’m spending this Christmas season in a blur of baking and cooking and silly tv specials, warm drinks and great friends.  I’m enjoying myself.  At least for today, I’m feeling ok about the whole no gifts thing.  As I’ve started to talk about it, I’m finding that it’s more the norm this year.  Not everyone is scaling back just because of money, but because the money thing has started to put STUFF into a whole new, wasteful and worthless category.  I think this new, better focus on the holidays is going to make it a much more memorable, less stressful time of year for a lot of people.

I think I’ll bake.

One response to “Refreshing

Leave a Reply

