Shopping and Eating

A large part of what I do as a mom and as a wife is manage our meals and do all the shopping for the family.  As a person, I don’t like to spend money needlessly.  So, about 6 months ago I got into couponing.  It used to take a huge chunk of time, but now it does not…at all.  The change:  no more clipping all the coupons.  I put the weekly coupon inserts into an expandable file by week and pull them out and clip only the ones I use each week.  Time:  20 minutes.  I think it’s no secret that I’m a southernsavers.com fan.  I use this site exclusively to get organized and know what to shop for.  Jenny’s new feature is printable shopping lists!  This is a huge time saver.  Here’s my 2 for the week:

Picture 1

I spent $47 at Publix this week and saved $38.  Not a bad week, but not great, either.  In the list above, there’s no way to show how many I bought of each since I write that part in.  I buy 3 newspapers, so if the best match is from the newspaper inserts, I usually buy 3 of them.  If the best is an internet printable, I buy 2 since that’s all they’ll let you print.  But, the idea is to stock up for 6 weeks on the things that are on sale–whether you have the coupon matches or not.  Thankfully, I have most of the ones you see now so I can get the lowest prices.  But, I did not have a Coffee Mate coupon, but I still bought it because if you see it here you know this is the lowest price it will be in the 6-8 week cycle.  And, I didn’t have the Stacy’s coupon, but I got 1 anyway because Jeff loves them and $2 is a slammin price for those.

What will we eat this week?  Well, I don’t usually eat what I buy this week, except for the stuff I typed in at the bottom (with no prices).  I buy groceries one week, then I make my list for the next week according to the things I’ve just stocked up on.  Does that make sense?

Monday:  ground chicken burritos

Tuesday: pasta spinach florentine, salad, bread

Wednesday:  baked cod, mashed sweet potatoes and steamed broccoli

Thursday: (small group night and meal at church) I’m taking broccoli cheese soup (made with the $1 broccoli, $.19 chicken broth, $1 cheddar cheese bought last week)

Friday:  out to eat with family

Saturday: tailgating, not sure what I’m making yet, but it will likely be something I have on hand

Sunday: BIG salads and baked potatoes

Then, there’s CVS.  I don’t do CVS every week because the coupon matches can be a little tough and random.  This week, I had everything and I did exactly this and paid exactly what you see below.  If you want to see where the coupons came from, you can go to southernsavers.com and check out this week’s ad and matchups.  It would have been a WAY long list if I’d included those, too.  The great thing about the CVS list this week is that I have 2 stocking stuffers and all my Halloween candy for pennies.  If you have never “worked” CVS before, you’ll definitely want to check out the getting started guide to understand why you break your items into multiple transactions.

Picture 2

Hope this helps someone!

Leave a Reply

