Getting Back

carolinaC

Last night I got back to something that I’ve missed since having Carter.  College football and MY Gamecocks.  I feel like I can call them “my” because I’ve been with them since I was around 3 years old.  My dad would take me and my younger brother to football games, dragging us into the upper of the upper decks all decked out in school colors and singing fight songs.  These are sort of magical memories from my childhood.  I got older and got too cool to go, which left my Dad and little brother.  Then, we he went off to college, that just left my Dad.  After I finished college and started dating Jeff, we all starting going together again.  Then, when I had Carter (days before the opening game of the 2007 season), I decided to stop going because I couldn’t bare to leave Carter and didn’t think he was ready for all the excitement of  a college football stadium.  So, for 2007 and 2008 my Dad and Jeff went to the games and I chose to stay home.  This year, before we hit our current financial situation (which is definitely improving), we were asked if we wanted to order season tickets.  There was some sort of big reshuffle of seats happening and it was supposed to be a great year to do this.  So, we said yes.  It was pretty cool.  We had a telephone appointment to pick our seats and we got to see via internet exactly where they were.  Heavy rain was forecast for last night (though not a drop fell), so I didn’t take my camera into the stadium.  But, this photo is pretty darn close to our view from our new seats.  LOVE IT!

gamecocks1

Anyway, you may not be a Gamecocks fan or a college football fan, but you MUST be a fan of good times.  And, last night good times were had by all.  It was so exciting driving back to this place and watching the stadium come into view.  We parked in this cool little gated lot (not as luxurious as it sounds, but pretty great) and we got to pick our spot–the corner of the lot with LOTS of space for all of our tailgate stuff.  We’re right by the road, so we sat and watched the students and other fans make their way to the stadium.  We had the chance to “let go”.  We ate, we drank and we screamed and cheered.  Jeff and I acted like college kids again and remembered that we could both be a lot of fun.  After the game, we reset our tailgate and sat under the stars until the traffic died down.  We just didn’t want to leave because it was so good to be back.

One response to “Getting Back

Leave a Reply

