Love for a Lifetime

With all the terrible statistics on lasting marriages these days, it’s a huge encouragement to me that my grandparents, parents, aunts and uncle are all beating the odds.  My grandparents have been married 60 years, my parents 34, my aunts 35 and 36, my uncle about 25.  Jeff’s family has the same statistics.  His parents are at 35 and his grandparents are over 50.

To celebrate the 60th anniversary of my grandparents, we had a lovely little party for them on the deck at my parent’s house last week.  I thought I’d share some of the fun memories from the evening.

IMG_3064

Carter’s favorite activity:  outdoor exploration

IMG_3074

Oh the yumminess!  Grilled corn from the garden, pork tenderloin with mustard sauce, local cantelope, baked potatos, broccoli salad and Publix bread.  And of course, the wine.

IMG_3073Jeff and Chad

IMG_3077The Donahue sisters – L to R – Judy (my mom), Rachel and Darlene.  All one year apart.  Yikes.  How their marriage survived those years is nothing short of a miracle!

IMG_3079The champagne toast.  Amazing–they never drink.  It went to their heads right away.  Several of us stood up to say a few words about what an example their marriage has been to us.

IMG_3080We tried.  It was funny to see them try this and at least made a great photo op.

IMG_3084We ended the evening with Chad playing and singing some great songs from the 50’s and 60’s.

One response to “Love for a Lifetime

Leave a Reply

