Thoughts on Nutrition

There’s a very interesting conversation going on over at Mom 101 about food with HFCS (High Fructose Corn Syrup) in them. The author was recently on a panel of moms speaking to food manufactures. The moms wanted to put the manufactures on notice that they will not purchase foods containing HFCS.

Interestingly, about 3 years ago I read the life-changing book You: The Owners Manual (you can purchase a used copy for less than $1.00+shipping). If you haven’t read it, you should. You’ll understand how everything affects the functioning of your body systems and you’ll feel empower to take control of your health. Personally, I read labels when I shop and I am and have been adamant about not feeding anything to my family with HFCS and Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil (PHSO – or any other partially hydrogenated anything).  Yes, I’m that annoying person that leaves all the boxes turned the wrong way on the shelf.

Here’s what Dr. Oz says about HFCS in his book:

“Your digestive system has 2 main hormones that control hunger and appetite. When you stomach’s empty, it send ghrelin in out requesting food. Leptin tells your brain that you’re full. When you eat, your fat cells sercrete it so that you stop eating. One of the biggest evil influences on our diet is the presence of HFCS, a sugar substitute that itself is a sugar found in soft drinks and many other sweet, processed foods. The problem is that HFCS inhibits leptin secretion, so you never get the message that you are full. And it never shuts off ghrelin, so, even when you have food in your stomach, you constantly get the message that you’re hungry. The double whammy on our hormones has contributed enormously to our collective enormity. When you consider that many American women consumer over 50% of their calories each day from salad dressing (which contains HFCS), you can see the problem. While food manufactures may eliminate fat, they make up for its taste with sugar and HFCS – which are simply empty calories that serve no nutritional purpose.”

Interestingly, he goes on to say that a lack of sleep plays the same havoc with your hormones and has the same effects as eating HFCS.

Then there’s PHSO.  There’s so much to say about the effects of PHSO. Basically, your body doesn’t need them — it needs good fats — and will continue to tell you to eat until it gets the good fats that it DOES need. And, your body can’t process them like regular fats, thus leaving them in your body for a longer period of time and giving them more of a chance to find a permanent spot on your body and in your arteries. Not good.

Here are some good readings on PHSO:

from treelight.co

from Wikipedia

Something to think about:

When you eat normal cis fats, the body metabolizes half of them in 18 days. When you eat trans fats the body requires 51 days to metabolize half of them. This means that half of the trans fats you eat today will still be inhibiting essential enzyme systems in your body 51 days from now

One last quote:

Consuming partially hydrogenated oils is like inhaling cigarette smoke. They will kill you — slowly, over time, but as surely as you breathe. And in the meantime, they will make you fat!

For the sake of yourself, your family and your children, stop buying all the processed crap and make an effort to cook things that are fresh and real. Be the voice to your extended family that they don’t get to feed your child that crap either. I’ll tell you, my father thinks I’m crazy, nuts and just plain mean sometimes because I guard what my child eats like a beast. I will take potato chips out of Carter’s hand and toss them back at whoever gave it to him and tell them that I don’t mind being the “mean mommy”. All along in my head I know that I am teaching my child good eating habits and raising him to be a child who knows what good food tastes like and who will be educated to make good choices about how he cares for his body. I’m also fighting the good fight to keep him away from caffeine and sugary foods in general, though I don’t mind giving him a “treat” every now and then.

That’s my rant of the day. How do you feel about HFCS and PHSO?

3 responses to “Thoughts on Nutrition

  • Lauren

    i don’t know what’s so hard about family members just respecting what we want for our kids. why does everyone always think they know better for your kids than you do? i run the risk of being the over-bearing, yanky, psycho b word to cole’s side of the family, or annoying my own parents. i’m making a mental note for when i’m a grandma 😉

  • Lauren

    this is JUST what i needed to get back on track with my eating. i don’t need fat blocking my good enzymes! it’s such a challenge for me to eat more veggies 😦

    what is really bugging me though is that i can’t be the “mean mommy” like you said! you knowe we live right next door to cole’s granny. well, all of my asking that she not give them candy and other crap like chips and cheetos has really amounted to nothing. she pretends she doesn’t give them anything while i’m around but then quinn and evy both will come home after hangin out with her with cheeto cheese and “fruit punch” dye all over their faces! she’s 80 years old. so…do i let it go on, counting on the fact that she might pass away soon? but she could live to be 90, and will have fed my kids enough garbage to ensure they love junk forever. i’ve prayed about it. what do you say to an old woman? i know she gets irritated with me. cole has talked with her several times. she thinks when something says “made with real fruit juice” (like chewy fruit snacks), or “fruit punch” (like water, HFCS, and red dye) that it’s actually made with fruit juice. i don’t have the heart to tell her it isn’t! she lost BOTH her children and she loves spoiling ours. any advice would be MORE than helpful because the junk also spoils their appetite for the healthy meals i make them! what’s a granddaughter-in-law to do??? i’m busy all day and i don’t have the time to chaperone them the whole dozen times they go visiting her each day. or should i??

    • mindofmandi

      I know. Oh boy, do I know. My parents live right next door to me and see Carter all the time as well. They laugh off my rules for what he should/shouldn’t eat. I certainly won’t keep them from seeing him (though I sometimes get that angry about it), but I try to send food and drink with him “just in case” he gets hungry. And, a lot of the time I just give up things I need to do and go with him. I know it won’t work all the time, but I figure that every little effort helps.

Leave a Reply

