Happy Valentine’s Day

(This one got published before I finished it.  I put the wrong publication time in.  If you’ve read it before noon on VD, there will be more now.)

I’ll end my “love week” posts with a compilation of sweet quotes from our emails, cards and handwritten letters.  These are some of the ideals we had for our marriage and our lives together.  I think they’re beautiful, though when love is new it is not always realistic.

Feb. 17, 1999

from Jeff…

I don’t think we will EVER have a ritualistic routine, what I want to become routine for us is how we relate to each other and how open we are always with each other.  I don’t doubt for one instant that we will ALWAYS be that close.  Arguments just seem to be something that we will never encounter.  Maybe that’s wishful thinking, but I really feel that we may actually never have an argument.

Feb. 21, 1999

from Jeff…

I know we’ll be happy forever, because I know there’s NO way I’m EVER gonna let anything come between my love and me.

I SO enjoy every time we talk…Let’s just never stop, ok?  I figure if we talk everyday until you get here, we can have as much time together as most couples that have been dating 6 months do.  And then, I don’t see any reason for slowing down!!  You know I’m really considering finding a way to be with you while you student teach this Fall…

Feb 23, 1999

from Mandi…

I couldn’t think of a better way to spend my Spring Break!  My motivation has been instantly renewed knowing that I’m coming to see you a week from this Saturday.  It’s cold and cloudy outside, but I haven’t even noticed!  I”M GOING TO SEE MY JEFFY!  I never, ever thought I’d get to see you this soon after your visit here.  This is perfect!  I love how quickly things change with us.  Every minute is a surprise.  There certainly was no reason to cry when I left you at the airport because three short weeks later I’ll be with you again (but how was I to know that?).

Feb. 26, 1999

from Mandi…

I just can’t make next Saturday get here fast enough.  I’m so ANTSY to see you.  My mind is there with you, so maybe you could do my work for me.  🙂  I’m sure I’ll be practically jumping out of my seat when we land in Anchorage knowing that my baby is standing out there waiting to wrap his arms around me.  I’ll run into them and feel complete again.  I can hardly wait to feel your hand in mind, your eyes on me, be close enough to breathe you in, experience where you live each day, talk with you face to face, watch you smile at me, touch you, feel you, build more memories, show you how much I love you, make you happy, laugh with you, be there for you in every way, make you proud, show you how proud I am of you, encourage you in all that you do, stand beside you and support your dreams, wake up in your house each morning, share small pleasures with you, share BIG pleasures with you, and be your wife.  I CAN”T WAIT!  I love you so much.

Feb. 27, 1999

from Jeff…

(this is one of my favorites)

“What God has joined together, let no man put asunder…”  I can’t wait to hear those words.  I already know them to be true, but to hear them about our marriage together in the sight of God and friends and witnesses, it will strike a chord in my heart that will echo jubilantly the rest of my days on earth.

Looking at the world around me today, I would seemingly have little to be particularly happy about.  The skies are gray, light snow falls, winter shows that it is here regardless of man’s efforts to forget it.  Shrinking into a fortress of steel, the mercury finds it better t wait out the cold.  Time eeks by, a metaphoric snail on a journey across a vast river valley.  Tick. Tock. Tick. Tock. Sleepy, waiting for the warmth of your smile to revive my heart and awaken me to the days of tireless activity; a new season in a new world.  One week.  Seven more days.  How is it that time feels so belligerent, so opposed to accommodating my happiness?  It is no matter.

The very thought of you, my dear….the snow stops.  A bird sings.  Drip. Drip. Drip. Ice melts from drainpipes, awakening the slumbering flowers.  The world shines a warm smile on its children.  Beaches.  Sunblock.  Crickets. Barbeques.  Fireflies.  Sunsets.  Starry nights.  Lovers share dreams over open fires and marshmallows.  The warmth brings life and love.  Happiness.

I’m glad you are coming to see me, and it’s going to be nice spending real time with you.  Though, I know, when you leave, the world becomes cold again.  Hope springs eternal; here’s to the day when we will be warm forever.

I love you, Mandi

A week later I got on a plane and had one of the most wonderful, romantic weeks of my life in cold, icy, snowy Anchorage.  Though the few days we spent together at Valentine’s Day were wonderful, something very real started during those 8 days.  It was a powerful love for each other that we couldn’t live without.  I went back to school and finished out the semester.  In May, I went back to Anchorage and spent the summer with Jeff and his family.  I worked in Anchorage.  I took a few classes at UAA.  I experienced a wonderful summer of 24 hour sunlight.  We played tennis at midnight.  We went on hikes, we drove around the area, we picniced on glaciers, we golfed on the side of mountains.  It was amazing.  The best part was that when it was time to come home, Jeff came with me.  He lived with my parents while I student taught and I got to see him on the weekends.  I graduated from college in December of 99.  Jeff moved into an apartment and I moved home and we began to have a real boyfriend/girlfriend relationship.  Jeff got a job in Greenville and we went out on dates.  Jeff proposed on Christmas Eve of 2000 and we were married June 23, 2001.  I love our story.

 

 

2 responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day

  • Lauren

    hey mandi! i have enojoyed reading these too! you guys are so sweet!

    i know you don’t like unsolicited advice–however…i’m feeling very strongly that God wants me to share with you some of the things that have helped cole and i regain our intimacy over the past several months. email me if you’d like to know 🙂 i so much want to see you guys have this (your notes, etc) connection again, and i know God does too!

    • mindofmandi

      Believe me, this entire blog is one big solicitation for advice. Please, please, tell me what you’re thinking! I can use all the help you can give.

Leave a Reply

