January 30, 1999: Jeff says “I love you”

Love week continues…

This is the script from our chat.  Yes, we first declared our love for each other over a computer screen.  But, it was soon followed by a phone conversation and a face-to-face meeting not 2 weeks later.

Jeff:

I’ve always known what it would feel like when I had a good wife.  I know what I wanted and what to look for and I felt sure I know when she came along.  There have been many close girlfriends of mine in the past, and several that I even got “chummy” with.  I suppose I’ve always made pretty close friends with girls, but that’s a little off the subject.  Qualities like openness, trust, humility, honor, integrity, love and commitment are, in my opinion, mandatory for a serious relationship of any kind, including close friendships.  Several people have let me down, but never I have I let anyone down in a friendship.  I have made it a point to be the one that reached out to fix any conflict or problem…and even to patch up gaps left by time passed between contact.  Like, if we were away from each other, I would call to let them know I still cared and thought of them.  I reached out so as not to be the cause of any breach in the relationship.  Before I met you, I had never found anyone so much interested in the same thing.  You are devoted to your friendship, and you have given me evidence of that both through words and actions.

What I guess I’m trying to say is, and I don’t want you to think I’m being assuming, by any means, is that I think you will be a superb wife.  Maybe not for me, but I hope you realize how special you are.  *blush*  I know you do realize this in a way, in that you know the Lord has something perfect and special for you, and you refuse to lose sight of that.  That is very admirable and you should never settle for anything less than something that continually surprises you.  You are the single most special person I have ever met, worldwide.  I really can’t even think of anyone close.  It’s like you are a completely different category.   To sum it up…you are perfect.  Again, I don’t want to assume anything, and I don’t want you to think “staking a claim” to you or anything.  I just want you to know how very dear you are to me and how much I respect you and how much I really love you.  And, some people are afraid to say that because of some “strings” that may be attached.  I know we haven’t known each other long and there is some risk in going too fast.  But, what is too fast, anyway? As I said before, you are so much of what I have always asked for in a wife that I feel I’ve known you forever, too.  I’m not asking you to be mine, and I want to be clear on that.  I’m saying it would thrill me to almost no end for it to end up that way someday.  I love you, Mandi.

Leave a Reply

