The Push for ME

I’m really doing this.  At a time in my life where I feel like I have no extra time, I am actually going to FIND time for me.  I have to because no one else will do it for me.  It’ll be 15 years from now and I’ll have droopy skin and bad teeth and a huge butt and I’ll think back to the time when I should have done something but didn’t.  I don’t want that kind of regret.  

I blogged a little about my skin looking old a few days ago and Lauren came forward in all her research and wisdom and has recommended some natural beauty products that won’t give me cancer from using them.  I can’t wait to try them.  I have oily skin, so here’s what I’ll be purchasing when I get paid this week:

Castile Liquid Soap from Dessert Essence (facial cleanser)
A Gentle Facial Scrub (once per week)
Calendula Hydrosol flower water (toner)
Rosehip Seed Oil (small amt. for moisturizing)
Cream with Alpha Hydroxy (haven’t decided which one yet)

I’m very psyched about this and I imagine my face looking like porcelain in only a few days.  I know, not very realistic but VERY motivating.

I’m a firm believer in doing something, moving forward and making a decision even if it’s wrong. Mistakes can be fixed, but doing nothing can be a huge source of regret that you can do nothing about.  Tuesday after lunch with my parents, I asked my Dad to go by Peak Fitness on Pelham Rd to check it out.  I’ve had my eye on them since the beginning of December because they have free child care and because they’re only 9 miles from my house.  They had a great special of $99 for a year.  But, when I went I found out that was over at the end of the year.  The deal I ended up signing up for was even better, I think.  $99 enrollment fee and $9.99 per month for as long as I’m a member.  Wow.  I hadn’t planned to join that day, but at that rate I no reason to say no.

I knew that if I didn’t go ahead and start going, I’d talk myself out of it.  So, Wednesday afternoon I had a ton of excuses not to go–I was tired, I was scared, Carter needed to eat a snack, I needed to start dinner, there was laundry, I had my period and felt gross.  I went anyway.  When I got there, I got the child care hours wrong and had to leave, go to Wal-Mart for 45 minutes and come back.  I was determined to get it over with.  I get back, put Carter in childcare and hit the cardio deck (as they call it).  15 minutes cardio, some upper body work, some lower body work and out comes the child care lady.  Carter is crying and he can’t stay.  So, after 30 minutes we’re leaving.  It felt like a big waste of an afternoon, but I still felt pretty accomplished because I did it.  I went back this morning and got in a full hour’s workout and all I have to say is “Ouch”.  The pursuit of a hot body is extremely painful.

Aside from taking care of myself physically, this time at the gym 4 days a week will also benefit my mental health.  One of my very favorite things to do is read.  I love to read books that teach me something, take me somewhere, make me laugh, make me think, and help me let go.  Reading is something that I haven’t been able to do much of, aside from blog reading.  Now, I’ve bought myself an entire hour to read while I work out.  I found out today that reading makes the time FLY by.  I’m not staring at the time on the machine…tick, tick, tick.  And, you can really get a lot of reading done in an hour.  Those four books on my shelf will be knocked out in a month.

It feels good to be doing a few things for me.

3 responses to “The Push for ME

  • An Update on Me « The Mind of Mandi

    […] fitness, home, husband, life, lifestyle | No Comments  So, a while back I wrote a post called The Push for Me talking about how I was going to start putting myself a little higher on my priority list. […]

  • Sarah

    Oh, let me know how you like the new skin regimen… you might convert me too!

  • Lauren

    great! me too! you must love having a full plate. i don’t 🙂 i just wanted to mention that the DHEA and fish oil supplements are very important in your skin care. you will definitely see lasting results with those products.

    you are so brave for trying the gym! i would go every day if i could but, like you said, not only does it take a ton of prep just to go, you can only stay a little bit, then the afternoon (or morning) is gone. i just got some more DVDs to try. we’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

