Deck the Walls

I have a fascination and appreciation for art and photography.  When we built our house, I had a tough time finding artwork that fit the style of each room perfectly, so I painted a lot of my own.  I’ve been into art my entire life and was once considered to be pretty good at it.  Since leaving college, I’ve haven’t had as much time to put into it.  But, I don’t think you ever lose creative ability.  I don’t expect that anyone would ever want to purchase anything I’ve done, but it’s something I love and something that moves me.  This year for Christmas with money being kinda tight, I’ve decided to give several family members paintings as gifts.  Painting has been something that I’ve only ever done for myself, so I’m a little nervous about putting myself “out there” with these gifts.  What if they don’t like them?  What if they think it’s just a cheap way out of buying a gift?  I’m already committed, though.  I ordered some really cool square canvases last week and should get them in and be able to get started soon.  

Here are the ones I have in my house:

 

This one lives in my coffee brown bathroom.  The flowers look like the ones on the curtain.

This one lives in my coffee brown bathroom. The flowers look like the ones on the curtain.

The red wagon lives in Carter's room.  I like the cartoony, kidishness of it.

The red wagon lives in Carter's room. I love the cartoonish, kidishness of it.

The butterfly used to live in my classroom, now it's in my green and yellow master bath.

The butterfly used to live in my classroom, now it's in my yellow and green master bath.

This one is a really large painting of 3 poppies on the wall of my bedroom.

This one is a really large painting of 3 poppies on the wall of my bedroom.

 

This is my absolute favorite thing I've ever painted.

This is my absolute favorite thing I have ever painted.

Not my favorite painting, but a great quote that inspired me.

Not my favorite painting, but a great quote that inspired me.

There’s also several things I love that I didn’t create but are still worthy of sharing.

My favorite class (7th year) created this (with the help of an artist parent) and presented it to me in grand fashion at the end of the year.

My favorite class (7th year) created this (with the help of an artist parent) and presented it to me in grand fashion at the end of the year. You can't see it, but there are layers of cheese cloth under the paint that gives the painting texture.

This colored pencil drawing is an amazing gift from a friend.  It lives in my great room.

This colored pencil drawing is an amazing gift from a friend. It lives in my great room.

"Wind from the Sea" by Andrew Wyeth.  This was a surprising Christmas gift from my younger brother.  He went to the Wyeth High Museum in Atlanta and bought this print because it reminded him of the view of the area around the house we grew up in.

"Wind from the Sea" by Andrew Wyeth. This was a surprising Christmas gift from my younger brother 2 years ago. He went the High Museum in Atlanta to Wyeth's exhibit and purchased this one because it reminded him of the area surrounded the home we grew up in.

5 responses to “Deck the Walls

  • Amanda Childers

    Wow- absolutely awesome! I knew you had talent back in college when you painted a few things for our dorm room!!! You should paint more like these and sell them- I think they would be a hit.

  • Lauren

    dang mandi! they really are beautiful! my mom would love the poppies…it looks like something she already has which she paid a lot for 🙂 i love em all. are you going to do more letters for carter? i’ve never been good at painting…it must be natural for you!

  • Sarah

    WOW, Mandi, these are seriously beautiful. I mean, seriously. Wow. I so wish I had such a talent… if you ever feel led, you should really consider selling these on Etsy. And I think that giving these as gifts is a wonderful idea – I can’t tell you how thrilled I would be to open one of these – would be my very favorite gift, for sure! 🙂

  • Rebecca

    Wow. I wish I could do that. They’re beautiful!

  • Jessica Zhang

    something you create is the best gift you can possibly give and it means more than anything you buy because your actually putting your time into making something. whenever I making a painting or drawing for someone, they always love it, part of the reason is that i think they appreciate me taking the time to make them something 🙂

Leave a Reply

